Today, i got email from someone that interested to buy my domain name. Actually, i got two emails asking my domain names, but i really confidence that these emails are from the same person. Same content, same writing style, and these two emails sent at the same day. Just different on sender’s email and interested domain name.

Straight to the point, here is the email:

from    fredrickshannon@aol.com
to    dbo3lhx4bf69afbcc9bc@n3omkv94bf61e901fd6c.privatewhois.net
date    Mon, Jun 7, 2010 at 10:28 PM
subject    Regarding: evergreenjewelry.com

hide details 10:28 PM (5 hours ago)

Dear , It has come to our knowledge that you are the rightful owner of evergreenjewelry.com

On behalf of a large Domain broker company i would like to hear if you are interested in selling this domain name?

our company hava more than 10 years experience in the domain brokering industry and see a potentiel value in your name. We prefer a fast and easy communication, if you are interested in selling evergreenjewelry.com, please send an email to: incoming-domain@investet.com with subject line “Interested in selling evergreenjewelry.com” including your asking price and prefered payment method for further considerations.

Thank you in advance

Sincerely

Do you see some fishy sentence here? This email don’t seem so much different from domain scammer’s email that i have received before. Ok, i will explain why i say this is just one type of scam.

Why Scam?

  • Sender Email is from “aol.com” domain name. I never heard any establish domain name broker does not have his own email / domain!
  • “please send an email to: incoming-domain@investet.com” – (hey, why don’t you use this email instead of “aol.com” email?)
  • when i opened “invested.com” domain name on my browser, i just see a blank page. So, where exactly is the domain broker website?
  • investet.com whois result indicated that this domain just registered on june, 2010. I wonder how “10 years experience in the domain brokering industry” sentence come out.

    Domain Scam WHois Screenshot

“fast and easy…” -  Yes,  like to sell my domain name with fast and easy transaction, but one more thing is more important;  secure transaction which is my priority in domain name business. If not, i will easily fall into scam trap with “fast and easy”  :p

Tags: ,

RSS feed | Trackback URI

Comments »

No comments yet.

Name (required)
E-mail (required - never shown publicly)
URI

Subscribe to comments via email
Your Comment (smaller size | larger size)
You may use <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> in your comment.

Trackback responses to this post